The Flavour Thesaurus and Broccoli, Stilton and anchovy soup

  • Left over meals made since Christmas:  10 (plus countless more in freezer)
  • Post Christmas day food thrown away so far: Two bags of rocket and a punnet of sweaty mushrooms.

And I thought there was nothing left to give from the Christmas leftovers. How wrong I was! There’s a head of broccoli that’s been pleading with me every time I open the fridge and my conscience has got the better of me. I cannot let this brassica go to waste! Completely fresh it isn’t, the florets have taken on a yellowish hue and it’s not in a state I would consider serving as a side dish to guests! But there’s mileage in it yet (I think!). Clearly there’s going to have to be a Christmas leftover companion somewhere, and there it is, nestled between the butter and the cream cheese a heroic block of stilton nonchalantly winking at me!

The Flavour Thesaurus An inspiration for many a food combination

Now, I’m not usually a massive fan of anything with the words soup and stilton in it so I decided to have a quick thumb through one of my favorite books, Niki Segnit’s Flavour Thesaurus to get some inspiration on flavour combinations. It’s a beautiful book. It looks, sounds, smells and feels fabulous; all the things that a kindle can never replicate (not that I’m against kindles) and it is also incredibly practical, offering up hundreds of flavour combinations. For broccoli I found a few I already knew (garlic, chilli) but one I didn’t and that was anchovy.

A limited pallete of ingredients

Finely chop 2 cloves of garlic, one onion and three anchovy fillets and fry gently for a few mins in butter. Add the florets and sweat for five mins or so. Add 500 ml of veg stock and 500 ml of water and bring to boil. Simmer for ten mins. Blend until smooth and then mix in stilton. Season with pepper and check if it needs extra salt. It probably won’t due to the saltiness of the anchovy and broccoli, which make for surprisingly fine bedfellows!

A fine addition to the soup repertoire
One thought on “The Flavour Thesaurus and Broccoli, Stilton and anchovy soup

Leave a Reply

